The ONE Thing I Didn’t Do – Wise Decision?


The One Thing I Didnt Do

Sitting in the comfort of my Home, while sipping a cup of tea, compliments to my beloved wife, I looked at the “Now” Turned decorated Items hanging on one side of the Wall – A Bluish Covered badminton Racket, initially acquired to serve a different purpose.

And a thought crossed my mind, why not to wrap some words around the same & make it the protagonist of my post today. And I like to call it as – “The ONE Thing I Didn’t Do – Wise Decision”

I am pretty sure that most of us, when we look back at our life there will be that ONE Thing, that we had the option to do, but didn’t choose to pursue for any rhyme or reason which could have been apt considering the time.

My Story – The ONE Thing I Didn’t Do – Wise Decision?

I am going to classify the Thoughts in 2 main phases:

Initial Days – Make A Call!!

While growing up in a small city Jammu in Northern Part of India, I had developed Badminton-Rackets 1keen interest for the game of badminton. A quick jump in my memory lane & I remember getting my First Badminton Racket at the age of 10ish or something. I started playing like everyone else, around the by-lanes and then picked up steadily with my fellow peers.

Around the same time, started playing at the school during the “Games Period”- A Time Period scheduled to play game of choice. Felt pretty comfortable being at Court with my peers. While writing the post, it feels nostalgic that how you can sometime remember the exact order of things of a specific day 🙂

With an interest developing, I approached my parents to get a training from a Coach. We got me enrolled & my mother accompanied me during the initial days. I remember going to the Stadium for about a month or so…Post which I had to call it a day as it was getting difficult to find a balance between my studies and the game time, and to top it all with the travel time.

But my interest in the game was still pretty much there and I kept playing during the game period at my school. Time flew by and I had reached my Xth Standard (BOARD Times) already. At the same time we had an Inter-School Badminton competition and without any formal coach/training, I managed to get selected in the school team and was slated to play against Under 16 State Champion as a scape goat (A strategy which obviously backfired) and as expected I lost. But I took a great deal out of the match as I managed to give him at least a little bit of competition & when the feeling was mutual coming from the winners comment was a good boost as well!!

Coming back to Studies, with Board Exams approaching, I had to take a Call to continue playing the game I Like or choose to Study. And as a safe bet, I choose to part ways from the game of Badminton :(.  But did kept my Badminton Racket in the study room as a remembrance. (Still remember the Bluish Cover..!!)

Present Day ….After 20+ years…

I am a Working Professional now. I still have the Same Bluish Badminton Racket with me & I have started playing the Badminton one more time.

But This time, I am pretty sure that I will not be parting ways from the Game I Love!!!

Wise Decisiondecision-making

Now when I look back at my decision, I had a mixed thoughts taking sides in my mind!!

The Angel Side was pretty happy that I made a Wise Decision, by giving enough time to my Studies, which makes the foundation of a happy fulfilling life today.

The Not-so-Angel side throws a punch asking, what If I could have given the same time to develop my game, which could have then turned into an exciting career. You never know!!

Well weighing the options, I would Like to say that Eventually there is no Good or Bad decision. It was a path I choose & I am pretty happy about it!!

So that’s my Story, What’s that ONE Thing That You Didn’t Do ?

Concept image with What is Your Story printed on an old typewriter


5 thoughts on “The ONE Thing I Didn’t Do – Wise Decision?

  1. Hi Kunal – yeah, thought provoking piece – well done. My “one thing”? Writing!! Did well at school, really enjoyed it, but life in SA at the time meant limited opportunities to chase dreams. You did your 2 years “National Service” in the defence force, then found a “real job” and got on with life. Remember, back in 1980 SA was still under the old regime; our overeas travel was limited because we were a Pariah State. Now in my case, it’s closer to 40 years later – and only now do I get to chase that dream..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I started playing BADMINTON from today….Feeling pretty good and Amazing!!! what a sense of Comfort, when I Picked up Badminton Racket in my hand!!!…..Hope you can also pick up that ONE THING today…Do share with everyone, if you do ….!!

    Like

  3. Playing on international level in my favorite sport A.K.A SPEED SKATING, is the one thing I really wanted to, but didn’t do. Actually its really funny that, the one thing I’m wishing I could have done when I had the chance,
    is also the one I didn’t liked at first or gave much thought about. But a big thanks to this amazing sport for giving me the motivation to do things more seriously and flawlessly. I’ve been to a lot of championships. Won a couple of ’em. Lost more than I won. But, the joy and thrill of representing your own country in your favorite sport, in my opinion, is entirely on a whole other level and can’t be described in words. Just imagine yourself standing at the top of the podium, with a championship trophy in your hand, medals on your chest, and the crowd cheering you up. I can’t explain that MAJESTIC feeling in words. If someone can, then please describe it in a comment below. Anyway, I’m happy that I could share my thoughts. The SKATER still resides within me, raring to go, at any given oppertunity.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment